little girls rock!

Posted on June 4, 2009

3


As of 8:50 AM yesterday, I am officially the proud dad of a beautiful, precious little baby girl named Lilly Claire Shields. At 9 lbs, 11 oz and 21.5 in. long, suffice it to say that she was ready to roll outta that cozy womb. I still am not sure how my wife was able to pull that off the last few weeks.

After being a dad of boys for the last couple of years, I wasn’t too sure about this whole girl thing.  And to boot, the innumerable accessories, murderous thoughts about future boyfriends, and comments from other dads about “being wrapped around her finger” didn’t really help at all.

However, with an amazing 26 hours under my belt, I have to say that I couldn’t imagine how incredible it is to have a baby girl. As we sat in recovery, I stared at her, talked to her, and prayed over her in a protective way that was different than with the boys.  As I look to the future, I am absolutely stoked about dressing her up, daddy-daughter dates, ponytails, biblical womanhood, and one day walking her down the aisle and giving her away to a trustworthy man of God. Not to mention I’ll have at least one child that will take care of me – altogether it’s a pretty good deal! Jesus, thanks for enlarging the Shields’ tent with this precious gift of grace.

IMG_2056IMG_2051

Posted in: Uncategorized