where have all the men gone?

Posted on February 27, 2009

2


skitched-20090227-1412141Since March is officially women’s history month, I thought I would dedicate this first post to the issue of gender makeup in the church (no pun intended).  A recent Pew Research survey over 35,000 adults from multiple denominations found that women (surprise, surprise) were more spiritually engaged with their church than their male counterparts on a number of issues: religious affiliation, belief in absolute truth, daily prayer life, and feelings of importance.  The most striking numbers, however, were related to church attendance: only 34% of the men reported attended church on a regular basis.  Which leads me back to the title of this post:  Where have all the men gone?  And worse as a youth pastor: why are these numbers not surprising?  Almost weekly for the past few months I have had a number of young boys in my office who are getting slammed by drug abuse, sexual immorality, violent outbursts, and an overall lack of spiritual vitality.  The most frequent comment I hear from these young men – “my dad really isn’t into all this spiritual stuff . . . he never talks to me about God.”

Posted in: Uncategorized