2008 reflections

Posted on December 31, 2008

1


Tonight people will gather around their televisions to do what observers have been doing since 1907 – witnessing the dropping of the Waterford Crystal Ball in Times Square, New York City.  While we have come a long way in technological advances from the original iron and wood ball to the contemporary version (2,600 crystals & more than 32,000 LED lights), the purpose is the same: inaugurating a new calendar year while simultaneously saying goodbye to the previous year.

The ceremonalism of New Year’s always strikes me as bitter sweet.  While there are plenty of moments worthy of forgetfulness, there is also plenty to cherish and celebrate in a year’s time.  Here are some of the things I would like to celebrate from 2008, as well as some things I would like to do better in 2009.

2008 pats on the back:

  • celebrated my fourth year of marriage to my lovely wife Emily, with whom I am more in love with than ever and am grateful for the 2 sons we are raising together
  • finished my Ph.D and for the first time since I was 5 will not be looking forward to the next educational level
  • contributed to my first book, Perspectives in Family Ministry, which should be out in the Fall of 2009
  • saw increased Sunday morning preaching opportunities at Highview, which when I think about men like Al Mohler, Herschael York, Danny Akin, Kevin Ezell, and others who have stood on that stage I am both humbled and grateful for this privelege
  • had the opportunity to lead several young men to Christ over the course of this year

2009 revamping:

  • looking forward to doing the LoveDare with my wife and the rest of our church couples in January/February
  • I completely fell off the wagon this year when it came to a passionate prayer life – I am going back to an old-school written prayer list
  • my family needs to be more intentionally involved in our neighborhood & community for the gospel – I am going to initiate some family projects for myself and our church
  • I am going to work hard at creating more resources for Highview families on critical issues affecting teenagers
  • I would love to write, travel, and speak to churches about my dissertation research on youth ministry dropout

That’s my list.  What about you?

Posted in: Uncategorized