Humility?

Posted on March 12, 2007

0


I have been preaching through the book of Philippians on Sunday nights at my church.  Last night I took onHumility mission impossible – preaching about humility. What a difficult task!  As if I know so much about humility and have conquered my own pride.  However, I did find some very practical ideas from C.J. Mahaney’s book entitled Humility that I thought I would pass along…oh yeah, and a great quote: “Humility is like underwear, necessary, but indecent when it is exposed.”

1. Consider the cross of Christ – “nothing undercuts our pride like Jesus’ humiliation on the cross”

2. Acknowledge your dependance on God each morning – we are completely dependent on Him for everything…even sleep is a demonstration of this!

3. Seize your commute – the average commute is 25 minutes…use this time to pray, memorize Scripture, etc.

4. Actively participate in accountability for your pride – have people asking you the tough questions

5. Take joy in and verbalize your excitement for the progress/victories of others.

6. Play a lot of golf.

7. Laught often – both at others and yourself.  There is plenty for us to be humble about.

How about you?  How do you pursue and evaluate your own humility? How do you know when you have achieved a sufficient level of humility?  What practical ways do you go about it?  Please drop me a comment on this important issue.

Posted in: Uncategorized